City Hall, Cape Town

Wilhelm Grosz “Serenade”

Schumann Cello Concerto in A minor

Strauss “Also sprach Zarathustra”

Conductor: Conrad van Alphen

Soloist: Alexey Stadler (cello)

The Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra concert in the Cape Town City Hall on Thursday 14 September is part of their 2017 spring season. According to Grosz scholar, Joseph Toltz, “This concert is the first in living memory to hear one of Grosz’s early, large-scale orchestral compositions.” Wilhelm Grosz’s Serenade was thought to have first been performed by the Vienna Philhamonic under Felix Weingartner, although recent evidence suggests that Serenade received its first performance with the Staatskapelle Dresden in 1921. This performance by the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra is thus historic and has been made possible through collaboration between the CTPO and Out of The Shadows – Rediscovering Jewish Music and Theatre.

Schuman’s sublime cello concerto will be performed by Alexey Stadler, one of the finest young cellists of his generation and winner of the 2012 TONALi Grand Prix in Hamburg. Strauss’s “Also sprach Zarathustra” is seldom heard in South Africa because of the large forces required to perform it. It is perhaps best known now as the music from Stanley Kubrick’s 1968 film, 2001: A Space Odyssey! South African-born Dutch conductor Conrad van Alphen is artistic director and chief conductor of Sinfonia Rotterdam and will be conducting the CTPO this evening.